Alert but not alarmed – the power of Google

27 Dec

I recently discovered something new – Google Alerts. Those of you who have not yet heard of this, look away now because once you’re alerted there’s no going back.

I blame Nick Earls for this new dimension to my inter-web addiction. A few weeks ago he posted a rather amusing blog detailing his duel for supremacy with his internet doppelganger – the other Nick Earls.

Now, most of us have internet doppelgangers – unless your name happens to be Jesse Blackadder – in which case you’re very lucky. I, personally have been fighting it out with Lisa Walker, the jeweler. Apart from a few glorious weeks where for some unaccountable reason I made it to the top, hers is the first name that appears when you Google Lisa Walker. I can do nothing but bow to her superior pulling power.

But, Nick, for ‘professional reasons only’ he says (sure, Nick) explained that he gets an alert from Google whenever his name is mentioned. Why haven’t I heard of this before? I cry to myself and sign up immediately.

Let me tell you now, Google alerts are the work of the devil. Unless you are Justin Bieber or Lady Gaga, there is nothing good that can come from being sent an email every day telling you how often your name is mentioned in the internet cloud. Very, very infrequently is the answer.

On a similar note, a while back I wrote a blog about favourite Google search terms. As a result, people searching for fluffy rabbits and cute kittens are still the main visitors to my blog.

I’m sorry for wasting your time all you fluffy rabbit and cute kitten fans. But I do have a nice fluffy rabbit picture here.

And if you live in the same part of the world as me, please say hi if you’re at any of these places where I will be signing books and doing all those other things which authors do (whatever they may be). 

Lennox Bookmark, Lennox Head – 7th January 10am – 12.00 (reading at 11.00)

Collins Bookshop, Byron Bay– 7th January 1.30pm – 3.00

Mary Ryan’s Bookshop Byron Bay– 8th January 10.30 – 12.00

Launch of Liar Bird – 14th January, Byron Bay. Contact the Northern Rivers Writers Centre – siboney@nrwc.org.au

2 Responses to “Alert but not alarmed – the power of Google”

  1. karly December 27, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    it’s an amazing feature! I now know there’s a Karly Lane (street) in a brand new subdivision in the US with great land and house packages!!!! I get these updates quite frequently! but it has been helpful, turning up reviews I wouldn’t have known about :)

    • Lisa Walker December 27, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      I just wish I had a name that wasn’t so common. Today, Lisa Walker is getting an award for sports medicine, racing horses and commenting on conditions in jails as well as running a successful photography business. Puts me in my place really. But yes, it has turned up the odd useful fragment. I’m not unsubscribing yet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 507 other followers

