On the dangers of running (how I found myself enrolled in a stand-up comedy course)

2 May

There’s something about running. It’s the endorphins, I suppose – they’re supposed to be like morphine, aren’t they? Obviously one should never make important decisions while under the influence of mind altering drugs, and yet my morning run on the beach is the time when all my brightest ideas strike me. Well, they seem bright at the time…

The other week on my beach run, it occurred to me that I should enrol in a stand-up comedy course. I’m not sure what brought this to mind, and even less sure why it seemed like a good thing.

I’ve known people who have done stand-up comedy before and it has always seemed like bungy jumping to me (which I’ve never done). Why would you do that to yourself?

But last week, on my beach run, somehow it seemed like an excellent idea. I needed to challenge myself. I’d been in the comfort zone for too long. I’ll just have a look on the web when I get home, I thought to myself. There probably won’t be a course on, or it will be on when I’m away. And I’ll be off the hook – another brilliant idea that I just couldn’t get around to. Drats!

But no, when I looked it up – horrors – there was a course starting in two weeks, it had vacancies and, incredibly, it didn’t clash with anything else I was doing. I had no excuses. The combination of endorphins and internet shopping was too much for me to handle. Within five minutes, I had whipped out my credit card and enrolled. You know what they say, enrol in haste, repent at leisure…

Every Wednesday night for six weeks, I will be facing my fears with my tutor, the amazingly talented Mandy Nolan. Hopefully I’ll get some laughs out of it. Whether anyone else will, remains to be seen.

Has anyone else done this, or been tempted to do something else really scary? Any sage words of advice or condolences to offer?

 

I will be talking about chick lit at the Gloucester Writers Festival this weekend with the lovely Lisa Heidke. This is the ‘before’ case study. By the time I get to the Byron Writers Festival in August, I will be much, much funnier, I promise!

3 Responses to “On the dangers of running (how I found myself enrolled in a stand-up comedy course)”

  1. Elizabeth Lhuede May 9, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    That course sounds like a lot of fun. Hope you do a post on your experience. Enjoy the Gloucester Writers Festival.

    • Lisa Walker May 9, 2012 at 3:10 am #

      I certainly will do another post or two about it. I figure that once I’ve done this no form of public speaking can hold any fears for me!
      Gloucester was last weekend – a very nice festival and a receptive, friendly audience for my first writers festival panel.

      • Elizabeth Lhuede May 9, 2012 at 4:29 am #

        I’m a week behind! Glad you enjoyed the festival. Looking forward to the blog version of stand-up comedy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 507 other followers

