Lights, camera, um… (coming out in Byron Bay)

6 Aug

Well, I’m starting to recover from the excitement of the Byron Bay Writers Festival. Highlights for me:

-   Rubbing ink off Isobel Carmody’s face in the book signing tent.

-   Sitting next to Tom Keneally in the book signing tent. I was able to reminisce briefly about the fact that I taught him cross-country skiing back in the late ‘80s. He says he can ski properly now and just got back from Vaile. Tom Keneally is like Peter Pan – he never ages.

-  Participating in the debut author’s panel with Amanda Webster, Shamus Sillar and Jessie Cole. Such a lovely and receptive crowd and a varied group of authors. Amanda Webster made me cry, Shamus Sillar made me laugh and Jessie Cole had me in awe at the quality and impact of her writing. A special thanks to those two lovely ladies who couldn’t decide whose books to buy afterwards and so bought them all – we love you!

-          Panel-wise, I especially enjoyed seeing climate change campaigner Anna Rose and chatting briefly afterwards. Anna was excited to learn that I’m currently writing a romantic comedy about climate change. I was excited to learn that her book Madlands, is practically a romantic comedy itself – it ends in a wedding!

What else? John Marsden drinks Coke Zero, Hannie Rayson can put on lipstick without a mirror, Andy Griffiths has the biggest book signing queue, Leanne Hall gets into character by crawling around on soccer fields at night, and I still haven’t met Martin Chatterton, even though he lives in the same small town as me.

And I think that might be about it for my brushes (and lack of brushes) with literary fame and glamour. Now I can retire with relief back to my cave.

Photo: Debut authors before the panel

4 Responses to “Lights, camera, um… (coming out in Byron Bay)”

  1. Sara August 6, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    I was there Lisa and I loved you and all of the other authors! I came in not knowing a thing about any of you and went out buying all of your books on amazon! Hope to see you there next year.

    -Sarah

    • Lisa Walker August 6, 2012 at 5:51 am #

      Bless you, Sarah – you’re bringing tears to my eyes :) I hope to be there next year too, so maybe see you then! Thank you for your kind words and for buying our books – I hope you enjoy them, it was such a fun panel.

  2. martin chatterton September 10, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    hey Lisa, we met at last! Good to see you at the BWF on Saturday. Now I know what you look like I can say hi in Lennox…

    • Lisa Walker September 10, 2012 at 4:31 am #

      ha, yes, I feel like a cyber stalker now. Good to know you survived the love in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 507 other followers

