Sex, Lies and a Book Trailer

2 Nov

Opinion is divided about book trailers. Some think they work, some think they don’t. Some, like Jonathan Franzen, are fundamentally opposed to them, but do one anyway. See Franzen’s grouchy take on a book trailer for ‘Freedom’ here.

Me, I have no idea, but I’ve done one anyway. Why? Just because it’s fun. And maybe they work… Who knows?

I don’t have any high profile friends, like Gary Shteyngart, who called on James Franco, Jeffrey Eugenides and others to act in his video for ‘Super Sad True Love Story.’ But what I do have is… a talented teenage son. Lucky me.

So here’s my trailer for ‘Sex, Lies and Bonsai.’ It’s thirty seconds long. It’s set in Lennox Head (as is the book). It’s got SEX. It’s got LIES and there’s even a BONSAI. Featuring me on the computer keyboard, me on vocals, with all cinematography by Tim. (here’s his YouTube site)

What do you think about book trailers? Do you reckon they work?

 

6 Responses to “Sex, Lies and a Book Trailer”

  1. Jesse Blackadder November 2, 2012 at 2:51 am #

    Well it certainly works in distracting me from what I’m meant to be doing – however the link only takes me to a jpeg, not a movie. Is that something wrong I’m doing?

    Looking forward to the launch

    Cheers

    Jesse

    • Lisa Walker November 2, 2012 at 3:28 am #

      I replied a few minutes ago, but it doesn’t seem to have happened, so you might get two replies in the end…

      Herei’s the link again

      hope it works! looking forward to the launch too and eagerly awaiting some books 🙂

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out November 8, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    While I don’t seek them out, I do watch them when I come across them. Even if they don’t appeal to everyone, they don’t hurt anything either. I enjoyed watching yours!

    • Lisa Walker November 9, 2012 at 12:46 am #

      thanks, glad you liked it. It was fun making it and a nice mother/son project. I probably wouldn’t go out and spend lots of money on making one though.

  3. Peta-Jo November 21, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    I liked it… very cute and playful. I think book trailers are becoming more popular now, since more and more people are buying online. Good effort!

    • Lisa Walker November 21, 2012 at 4:26 am #

      Thanks Peta-Jo, it’s a fun thing to do anyway. Look forward to reading your book, sounds like fun, and set in Brisvegas… what more could you ask for?

Leave a Reply

