Australia Day Blog Hop Giveaway – My review of ‘Nine Days’ by Toni Jordan

25 Jan

nine daysWhat better way to celebrate Australia Day than by recognising a wonderful Australian writer… This post forms part of the Australia Day Bloghop hosted by Book’d Out and Confessions from Romaholics. All bloggers participating in this event are giving away books – so don’t forget to visit all the other participating bloggers. Details follow at the end of this post…

‘Nine Days’ is a departure from romantic comedy for Toni Jordan, whose two previous novels ‘Addition’ and ‘Fall Girl’, I both read and loved. ‘Nine Days’ was inspired by the photograph on the cover, which was taken during World War Two, and shows a young woman farewelling a soldier on a train station. Around this image, Jordan has built a story from the point of view of nine different but interrelated people, recounting a significant day in their lives.

This is not historical fiction, the stories range across time, coming up into the present, but they all interlink around the central story, providing different angles and insights. As in her other novels, Jordan’s writing is zesty, witty and easy to read, however the really impressive thing with this one was that it had nine different, and totally believable voices. The stories are all set in the same Melbourne suburb and the photograph, along with a coin and a pendant, provide a motif to link them together. Really, it reads as a series of linked short stories more than a novel, but whatever you call it, it worked.

Writing a novel from nine points of view is an ambitious undertaking. The risk is that the reader won’t be able to become emotionally involved enough with any one character. At the end of each character’s story, I was sorry to be leaving them to move onto the next. However, by the end of the book, I felt satisfied with having met such a diverse array of characters and this deepened the impact of the final story when it came. The last story is Connie’s, the young woman in the photo and it’s probably not giving too much away to say that it had me in tears.

I picked up this book expecting to feel disappointed by Jordan’s departure from romantic comedy, at which she excelled, but found exactly the opposite. Mixing both light and dark, ‘Nine Days’ is storytelling at its best. While not comedic in tone, the writing is fresh and easy to read. Jordan says in the acknowledgements that she is not a writer who has a profusion of ideas; rather her creative brain is, ‘like a desert across which the odd ball of tumbleweed occasionally rolls.’  I’ll certainly be watching out for the results of the next ball of tumbleweed that rolls on through.

This review is my first for the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2013. 

 

And now – the giveaway. To go into the draw to win a copy of my new novel ‘Sex, Lies and Bonsai’, read an extract hereaustraliadaybloghop and write a sentence (or sentences) of your choice from the extract in the comments section.

For example: ‘Don’t ring Daniel!’

The giveaway closes 28th of January and a winner will be announced by the 4th of February.

Happy Australia Day.

35 Responses to “Australia Day Blog Hop Giveaway – My review of ‘Nine Days’ by Toni Jordan”

  1. Daystarz Books January 25, 2013 at 1:52 am #

    I won’t enter in your Giveaway Lisa as I just last week won a copy of Sex Lies and Bonsai and don’t want to be greedy. I am so looking forward to reading it! My giveaway is here:
    http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/australia-day-book-giveaway-blog-hop/

    • Lisa Walker January 25, 2013 at 6:07 am #

      cool, I’ve been offline for a little while, I’ll pop over to yours!

  2. rachael johns January 25, 2013 at 3:05 am #

    I swerve to avoid a large fish head someone has left on the sand 🙂

  3. The Australian Bookshelf January 25, 2013 at 3:49 am #

    I read my poem as if it were a shopping list.

    Thank you for the giveaway, I’d love a copy of your book 🙂

    Lauren

    • Lisa Walker January 25, 2013 at 6:08 am #

      thanks for visiting, best of luck, cheers Lisa

  4. Michelle Vamvas January 25, 2013 at 4:09 am #

    I hate you. I hate you not.

  5. kaetrin January 25, 2013 at 5:04 am #

    “E I can’t stand it anymore” his message said. Daniel never uses abbreviations when texting. Apart from my name. I wonder why that is.

    Happy Australia Day Lisa 🙂

    hankts AT internode DOT on DOT net

    • Lisa Walker January 25, 2013 at 6:09 am #

      happy Australia Day to you too, Kaetrin, cheers Lisa

  6. Bec January 25, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    the night started predictably enough. A middle-aged woman with fire-engine-red hair emoted about her secret lover….
    that could go so many ways! Looking forward to reading your book

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

      Thanks Bec, hope you enjoy it when you get to it.

  7. Monique (@writenote1) January 25, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Great review of Toni’s book. I read Addition a few years ago and enjoyed it. I’d love to read your book.

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      Thanks Monique, yes I love Toni’s writing. Thanks for dropping by,
      cheers
      Lisa

  8. Michelle van S January 25, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Sally’s lovers are always hot.

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 9:38 am #

      Hi Michelle – you are the lucky winner! If you’d like to send your address to me at liswalker@bigpond.com I’ll get it off to you asap, cheers,
      Lisa

  9. Jess :) January 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

    ‘Neither love nor hairstyles have ever come easy to me.’
    Happy Australia day 🙂

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      Happy belated Australia Day to you (have been offline). Thanks for stopping by,
      cheers
      Lisa

  10. Ann-Marie Day January 26, 2013 at 5:11 am #

    ‘Now he wanted to return to me like a defective product’. This one line had me laughing so much. Can’t wait to read your book.

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

      Thanks Ann-Marie, glad you got a chuckle out of that! Thanks for stopping by,
      cheers
      Lisa

  11. Trish McCarthy January 26, 2013 at 5:15 am #

    Should I : Increase my self-esteem, Manage my stress, Take control of my moods, or Improve my relationships ?

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

      so much to do – so little time! see you next week,
      cheers
      Lisa

  12. Mary Preston January 27, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    Such a fun read through thank you.

    So many great lines. I love:

    “the sexual life of adult women is a dark continent”.

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

      ah yes, good old Freud. Glad you enjoyed the extract, thanks for stopping by,
      cheers
      Lisa

  13. Catherine January 27, 2013 at 2:29 am #

    Ooh, fun!

    He’d fallen for the advertisement, but he hadn’t read the fine print.

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Catherine, hope you enjoyed the extract,
      cheers
      Lisa

  14. samstillreading January 27, 2013 at 5:10 am #

    I read my poem as if it were a shopping list.
    That’s how I always read it at school! Thank you for offering a giveaway 🙂

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      Yes, funny, poetry is quite hard to read out loud I find. Thanks for stopping by,
      cheers
      Lisa

  15. bn100 January 27, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    The tree maintains an icy silence.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      thanks for stopping by on Australia Day,
      cheers
      Lisa

  16. Joe Jeney January 28, 2013 at 2:21 am #

    I feel like my microscope induction scene is written on my forehead. (I memorized that.) Lisa, thanks for letting me enter your comp, all the best, Joe

    • Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and memorising my work Joe!!
      cheers
      Lisa

  17. Lisa Walker February 3, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    Thanks so much to everyone who entered the Australia Day competition. The random number generater has determined that the winner is Michelle. Congratulations Michelle!
    cheers
    Lisa

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Australia Day Book Giveaway Blog Hop! « book'd out - January 25, 2013

    […] 37. Lisa Walker’s Blog […]

  2. February 2013 Roundup: Classics and Literary | Australian Women Writers Challenge - March 13, 2013

    […] Nine days. Told in nine voices and covering several decades, it’s an ambitious novel and Lisa Walker was expecting not to like Jordan’s departure here from romantic comedy, but she was […]

Leave a Reply

